A long stressful weekend and now it’s finally Monday. As I was getting out of my car, I noticed my husband’s Dan Auerbach album Keep It Hid in the door compartment (I don’t know what it’s called). While I am a fan of the Black Keys and its affiliates, I am not a fan of CD’s. The last time I deliberately purchased a CD was 2011 in Brookfield. It was a Nick Drake album I wanted just because it was the best I could do in a store full of vintage music (Way To Blue is also one of my favorite Nick Drake songs). Gerosa Records sells thousands of LPs and 45s and I considered getting myself a cool little record player before remembering I was in college and fitting everything I owned into a 15×15 bedroom. Before I purchased that disc, it was 2004 when I invited My Chemical Romance into my angsty junior high bedroom. I can listen to the album straight through without missing a lyric)

Of course, when you don’t have the money to buy unnecessary and quickly fading things like music, you turn to the freer sector so that when you get tired of it, all you have to do it delete it as opposed to keeping it safe and sound for some reason even though your ears begin to bleed from it.

On the other hand, AJ’s compact discs will be worth a pretty penny a few years from now. His collection is pretty enormous and he deserves respect for his broad taste in music. When we moved into this apartment, I forgot for a moment that he actually owns a Bone Thugs-N-Harmony album. And then he’s got a few Stevie Ray Vaughan’s and an Otis Redding and a Gary Clark, Jr. . I have a problem with associating old music with bad times but I do enjoy being surrounded by music.

I wanted to know if anyone made playlists anymore. When the iPod itself was a thing, people got on their computers and made their playlists based on what they were listening to around that time, what pumped them up for jogging, and what calmed them down for funkytown. Now, I’m a complete compulsive crazy person when it comes to organizing my library. The punctuation in the title of the song must be grammatically correct, the artist names must not be duplicated under the Artist section of my library, every album must have a photo. If it’s not perfect, it doesn’t belong in my library.

Back when I didn’t have a computer and my iPod Shuffle was my one prized possession, I had no choice but to not get tired of the Darwin Deez and Corinne Bailey Rae and Glassjaw tracks I would listen to over and over and over again until my next long walk to the library where I had access to file sharing account (this is high school I’m talking about). When I lost all of that music (four day’s worth) due to a virus, I seriously couldn’t get over it. After losing music over and over, I stopped holding onto music but, if I do, it’s got to appear perfectly in my library. Dissatisfaction over trivial things is what happens when you become spoiled with limitless music. As a result, I’ve got get rid of that part of my neurosis.

These days, my playlist is whatever I like on my Soundcloud stream, not a physical thing on my iPhone. The only time I plug my iPhone into my computer is when I prefer a performed version of a song over the studio version. Quelques examples: The Tallest Man on Earth’s KEXP performance, Lianne La Havas and Fleet Foxes’ A Take Away Shows, and this Dry the River performance. Further, don’t ask me to show you what I’m listening to unless there’s wi-fi available. I say that because my husband and I have gone over of monthly GB’s as well as the extra allowance– ouch, we need to be more careful.

I wanted to provide my currently listening to and ask you all to share with me. Let me know if playlists are something you set up by physically plugging your devices into your computer or is it just a fingers-crossed thing on your Top 20 Radio on Pandora? And does anyone still use the iPod or do iPhones or other smart phones suffice?

Jeremih – Don’t Tell ‘Em ft. YG
Kid Ink – Rollin’
Sam Smith – Money on My Mind (salute Remix)
Migos – Fight Night
YG – Who Do You Love? ft. Drake
Iamsu! – Only That Real ft. 2 Chainz & Sage The Gemini
PARTYNEXTDOOR – West District
SZA – Child’s Play ft. Chance the Rapper
Eric Bellinger – 9 Lives ft. TooShort & Ty Dolla $ign
BANKS – Change (Jensen Sportag Remix)
Adrian Mercel – Waiting (Remix) ft. Wale
Janine and the Mixtape – Hold Me
Etta Bond x Raf Riley – TAP ON THE BUS
Eliza Doolittle – The Hype

I’m heavily into ignorant rap right now.

Songs they should quit playing on the radio:
Iggy Azalea – Fancy ft. Charli XCX
Jhene Aiko – The Worst
That R&B song that references the McDonald’s theme song.
Every other rap song with the same baseline.

Note the lack of link provision.

